paul bennett

jQuery convert

Posted on: March 7, 2008

I’ve been using components of the YUI framework for a while now and have been really impressed with the depth and breadth of what it enables you to do. I was pretty convinced I’d stick with YUI for a good while….until today.

Now, I’d heard about jQuery a lot but had never taklen a decent look at it. I decided to after reading Cameron Moll’s latest post in his ‘the highly extensible interface’ series. I had a nice challenge for it too. I needed to recreate our sites navigation using way cleaner mark-up and unobtrusive JavaScript to replace the existing ‘tables-and-document.write’ nightmare.

To cut a long story short, I was able to not only recreate but also improve the navigation and it all took only 2 hours and about 50 lines of code. All I ended up with a solution which was less than a quarter the size of the original but supported more browsers and (in my opinion) had a more satisfying behaviour.

Seriously, a framework which makes things this easy and yet is so powerful deserves a lot of praise. Even after being reasonably familiar with YUI, I believe it wouyld have taken me around three times as long to get a working solution using ther YUI components. Remember – this was the first time I’d ever used jQuery

jQuery, I’m converted.

5 Responses to "jQuery convert"

I’ve been mostly using either Prototype/Scriptaculous or YUI for my javascript work. I started writing a utility in jQuery a couple of days ago, and I’m completely converted as well. The brevity of code that it ensures is really great.

Glad to hear it!

I too am a jQuery convert. Tested all of the libraries and jQuery was the one that made coding easier, shorter, less obtrusive, and more intuitive.

Now you need to check out the loads of plugins that are available.

@Jaffer – yes, the code you need to ‘just-get-things-done’ is amazingly brief. It’s almost the opposite of YUI (although the two projects do have different goals)

@Bryan – plugins are next on my list – thanks for the reminder 🙂

I came across a little tutorial on how to make a nav bar with this and I’m completely converted, just finished integrating it into magento for a slideshow of product.

I spent a lot of time and effort becoming an expert at using the Prototype library. Now that I use jQuery full-time, I couldn’t be happier. I’ve even published a templating plug-in and am working on a jQuery reference widget (both hosted on Google Code).

Leave a Reply

Archives

