paul bennett

Develop in more than one browser

Posted on: February 1, 2007

One rule I’ve learnt and relearnt over the last 5 years is the need to develop xhtml and css code in more then one browser from the very beginning of a project.

Often the temptation for me has been to stick with my development browser (Firefox with the ‘Web Developer Toolbar’ and ‘Firebug’ extensions) and worry about other browsers ‘later’.

These days I develop in Firefox, Internet Explorer 6 and Internet Explorer 7 as a minimum, with secondary checks in Opera 9 and Opera 8 and basic functionality checks in Internet Explorer 5.5 and 5, Opera 6 and Netscape 6. I know, I know, Mac testing is on the way too and Safari will be one of the primary browsers to test in.

Starting with the ‘big 3’ from the get go has led me to develop leaner, more cross browser CSS with far fewer hacks and kludges then in the past.

Leave a Reply

Archives

